Providing Public Transportation
Alternatives for the Greater
Phoenix Metro Area

Press Releases

Wed, Feb 2, 2011

Two new travel options in the East Valley

As gas prices begin to reach levels not seen since 2008, Valley Metro kicks off two new bus routes on January 24, 2011.

Route 184, Power Road, travels from Mesa Community College to the Phoenix-Mesa Gateway Airport providing the first-ever service south of Superstition Springs Transit Center. Power Road is the home of many medical facilities, college campuses, businesses, and shopping areas. Also located along the route is House of Refuge, a transitional facility for homeless families currently in work program and needing transportation to get to work and daycare.

The newest addition to the LINK Bus Rapid Transit System also began on January 24 with the start-up of the Arizona Avenue & Country Club Drive LINK bus route.  The route offers the first-ever direct connection to METRO light rail at the Sycamore Station from Chandler, AZ and Gilbert, AZ. The route features 20 new stations constructed with ARRA funds.

Both routes are operated using Proposition 400 funds, the half-cent sales tax approved by voters in 2004 to fund regional transportation projects in the metro Phoenix area. Events to celebrate each new service featured the band What Laura Says, who wrote and performed the song “How to Ride the Bus” as a part of the Valley Metro Notes Campaign.


Route 184 Ribbon cutting From Left: Bryan Jungwirth, Valley Metro Chief of Staff; Tempe Councilmember & Valley Metro Chair Shana Ellis; Mesa Mayor Scott Smith; Gilbert Mayor John Lewis; Gilbert Vice Mayor & Valley Metro Board member Les Presmyk; Mesa Councilmember & Valley Metro Board member Scott Somers; Mesa Councilwoman Dina Higgins.


Arizona Avenue LINK From left: Dan Withers, D.L. Withers Construction; Chandler Councilmember Jack Sellers; Gilbert Vice Mayor & Valley Metro Board member Les Presmyk; Chandler Mayor Jay Tibshraeny; Chandler Vice Mayor & Valley Metro Board member Trinity Donovan; Chandler Former Mayor Boyd Dunn; Mesa Councilmember Kyle Jones; Tempe Councilmember & Valley Metro Chair Shana Ellis; Chandler Councilmember Kevin Hartke; Valley Metro Executive Director David Boggs.


Need More Information?

Contact Valley Metro Customer Service at
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Back to Press Release Listing