Providing Public Transportation
Alternatives for the Greater
Phoenix Metro Area

Press Releases

Mon, Jan 31, 2011

Valley Metro Board Elects New Officers

PHOENIX (Jan. 31, 2011) – Tempe Councilmember Shana Ellis was elected Chair of the 2011 Valley Metro Board of Directors serving a one-year term along with Peoria Councilmember Ron Aames as Vice Chair and Phoenix Councilmember Michael Johnson as Treasurer.

“I’m very honored to have been selected as the Chair of the Valley Metro Board of Directors,” said the newly-elected Valley Metro Chair, Tempe Councilmember Shana Ellis.  “We have a very exciting and challenging year ahead of us and I look forward to working with my colleagues on addressing the many transportation issues facing the Valley.”

In 1993, the Regional Public Transportation Authority board adopted the name Valley Metro as the identity for the regional transit system in the Phoenix metropolitan area. Under the Valley Metro brand, local governments joined to fund the Valley-wide transit system that the public sees on the streets today.

Valley Metro Board member agencies include Avondale, Buckeye, Chandler, El Mirage, Gilbert, Glendale, Goodyear, Maricopa County, Mesa, Peoria, Phoenix, Scottsdale, Surprise, Tempe, Tolleson and Wickenburg.


Need More Information?

Contact Valley Metro Customer Service at
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Back to Press Release Listing