Download Icon Download Icon Information Icon Information Icon Close Icon Close Icon Add to calendar icon Add to calendar icon Transit Center Icon Transit Center Icon Calendar Icon Calendar Icon Clock Icon Clock Icon Icon Location Icon Location Description Icon Description Icon Contact Icon Contact Icon Map Icon Map Icon Map Ticket Icon Map Ticket Icon Calendar Full Icon Calendar Full Icon Calendar Half Icon Calendar Half Icon Calendar Quarter icon Calendar Quarter icon One Ride Icon One Ride Icon 1 RIDE Sun Icon Sun Icon One Way Ticket Icon One Way Ticket Icon 1 WAY Desert Ticket Icon Desert Ticket Icon Alert Icon Alert Icon Star Icon Star Icon Check Icon Check Icon Search icon Magnifying glass icon User profile icon Person silhouette icon twitter icon twitter icon facebook icon facebook icon Instagram Icon Instagram Icon Email Icon Email Icon Flickr Icon Flickr Icon Bus Icon Bus Icon Rail Icon Rail Icon Under construction map marker. Under construction map marker. Planning and design map marker. Planning and design map marker. Lightbulb cycle icon. Lightbulb cycle icon. Leaf cycle icon. Leaf cycle icon. carpool icon carpool icon Vanpool Icon Vanpool Icon Created with Sketch. Person Icon Person Bubble Icon Person Bubble Icon Rail Bubble Icon Rail Bubble Icon Rectangular Rail Icon Rectangular Rail Icon Bus Bubble Icon Bus Bubble Icon Rectangular Bus Icon Rectangular Bus Icon Double Arrow Icon Double Arrow Icon Fare Icon Fare Icon Refresh Icon Refresh Icon Edit icon Edit icon Trash Icon Trash Icon Swap icon Swap icon Person walking icon. Person walking icon. List Icon List Icon pencil/edit icon pencil/edit icon trash icon trash icon Employee Icon Employee Icon Employer Icon Employer Icon
design a transit wrap winner posing infront of bus with her wrap

Winning Valley Metro Art Contest is a “Dream Come True” for Peoria Student

Lyndzi Ramos, a sophomore at Peoria High School, has been drawing since she could walk, so it is no surprise that her artistic talent stood out to the judges in this year’s Design a Transit Wrap Contest. 

“Art means the universe to me,” said Ramos. “One drawing can be so powerful. My goal is to tell a story that will move people through my art.”

Ramos’ winning design will be on a bus and train for an entire year. She was beaming with pride when a Valley Metro bus, wrapped in her artwork, pulled up to her school today for a special unveiling ceremony.

“Public transit helps our communities by bringing people together,” Ramos said as she explained her artwork titled Ride & Shine. “It brings people with different backgrounds and various ages together. I used bright colors to illustrate how public transit contributes to society and a brighter future.”

Nearly 100 students across the Valley entered the 2018 Design a Transit Wrap Contest. The contest encourages high school students to create artwork that promotes public transit from their own point of view.

“We have a wonderful opportunity to connect with the communities we serve through art,” said Peoria Councilmember and Valley Metro board member Jon Edwards. “Lyndzi’s colorful design really captures the diversity of the Phoenix metro area and will now capture the attention of thousands as it travels across the Valley.”

Ruben Escobar Reyes, Marcos de Niza High School, and Brant Bloxom, Desert Mountain High School, received second and third place for their designs. Anielle David of Willow Canyon High School won Honorable Mention.


Contact Us

Transit Education

Design a Transit Wrap Contest

(602) 523-6070